Our Mission

To produce professional opera and musical productions of the highest artistic quality and to provide educational programming and outreach to students and adults in the Ark-La-Tex region.

Our History

Shreveport Opera is one of the oldest opera companies in the country and has been privileged to host some of the world’s greatest performers including Beverly Sills, Franco Corelli, Leontyne Price and Sherrill Milnes. It has also enjoyed the wonderful opportunity to help launch the careers of internationally acclaimed stars such as Renee Fleming and Greer Grimsley.

Over the years, there have been many creative leaders of the company, notably Mr. Robert Murray, who held the reigns for 17 years, producing prominent productions while maintaining fiscal responsibility. Nearly all of the traditional operatic repertoire has been presented since its founding in July 1949.

What We Do

About Us

Annually, Shreveport Opera produces three professional mainstage productions as well as hosts numerous special events including The Mary Jacobs Smith Singer of the Year Competition. Shreveport Opera also tours the Shreveport Opera Xpress (SOX) education and outreach program, reaching approximately 30,000 students and adults with the performances and their social messages. It is the only opera education and outreach program of its kind in the state!

The strengths of Shreveport Opera are its long and rich history, a dedicated and supportive Board of Directors, the Shreveport-Bossier Opera Guild, our patrons, a strong financial position, and a talented and hardworking staff who are dedicated to bringing the highest artistic quality productions to the Shreveport-Bossier community and region.

Shreveport Opera will only thrive in the future with the continued financial support of the individuals, foundations and corporations in our community. As a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization (Tax ID# 72-6021455), Shreveport Opera is operating in the black in a fiscally responsible way. We are growing our future audience by exposing students to opera via the SOX program, and we simply ask everyone to give opera a chance. You may surprise yourself!

For more information on how you can support Shreveport Opera, please contact Jennifer McMenamin, Executive Director, at (318) 227-9503 or jennifer@shreveportopera.org.

Administrative Team 


is the General & Artistic Director for Shreveport Opera. He was raised in Anchorage, Alaska and studied at the University of Alaska and Willamette University in Salem, Oregon. He enjoyed nearly twenty years of performing as an operatic baritone prior to settling into the administrative side of the opera world. He is the former General Director for Opera Memphis and General Director for Advancement for Nashville Opera. Steve is honored to have served as the General & Artistic Director with Shreveport Opera since 2008.




is the Executive Director & COO for Shreveport Opera. After 11 years working in a science museum, she made the change to the arts. Originally from the suburbs of Atlanta, Jennifer graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor of Science in Political Science and from Florida State University with a Master of Science in Applied American Politics and Policy. After a brief stint as a lobbyist for corporate America, Jennifer realized her passion was in nonprofit fundraising and administration.




is the Director of Patron Services for Shreveport Opera. She is a long-time member of the Shreveport area. She is active in her church, her community and, certainly, Shreveport Opera. She and her husband Steve are proud parents of two adult children, Ashley and Jeffrey. Cathey has long been associated with the arts, working for both Shreveport Opera and the Shreveport Symphony Orchestra. She is a former teacher with the Caddo Parish School District and an indispensable part of the Shreveport Opera Team!




Shreveport Opera
Board of Directors 2023-24

Sandra Harrold | President

Nancy McCarter Horn | Vice President

Carol Reyenga | Secretary

Tom Simms III | Treasurer

Marcia Moffatt | Past-President

Elizabeth Glassell | Guild President

La Wanda Blakeney

Bobbie Brasher

Luretta Bybee

Mikey Carlisle

Marletta Eddy

Holly French-Hart

Jodie Glorioso

Joe Kane

William Lacefield

Alfred Lacy

Michael McCarthy

Mark McCrocklin

Sybil Patten

Rev. Rothell Price

Toby Quarles

Jan Querbes

JoAnna Robinson

Robert Robinson, DrPh

Lois Rowe

Marshall Shaw

Libby Siskron

Mary Ann Valiulis

Judith Werner

to our

Opera Club Members

This list reflects all donors during our 74th season, July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2023.

 Unrestricted donations, artist sponsorships and gifts in support of the SOX program of $1,000+ cumulative qualify donors for membership in Opera Club. To join the Opera Club, please call 318-227-9503.

Eileen & Mike Adkins

American Online Giving Foundation

The J.B. Atkins Foundation

Dr. Dale Bauman & Paula Leonard

Dr. Jack & Anita Berg

Drs. La Wanda & Ernest Blakeney

Will N. Blanchard

Joseph A. Bocchini Jr., MD

Barbara “Bobbie” Watkins Brasher

Caddo Parish Schools

Caddo Parish Commission

City of Shreveport

The Community Foundation of North Louisiana

Community Foundation of North Louisiana
        – Carolyn W. and Charles T. Beaird Fund

Community Network, Inc.

Laura & Ed Crawford

The Crow Foundation

First Presbyterian Church Shreveport – D. Thomason Grant

Ruth Doreck Credit Shelter Trust

Marletta Eddy

Evolve Foundation

Ginger & Glenn Flournoy

Sanders Fowler

The Alta & John Franks Foundation

Josephine K. “Jodie” Glorioso

Scott H. Green & Robert D. Smith

Dayne & Kathy Hassell

Peggy & Mark Heacock

Louise Jackson

Carole & Bill Lacefield

Alfred Lacy

Dr. & Mrs. Robert T. Lafargue

Louisiana Division of the Arts, Office of Cultural Development, Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism
        in cooperation with the Louisiana State Arts Council, as administered by SRAC. Funding has also been provided by the National Endowment of the Arts.


The Magale Foundation, Inc.

Martha & Geoff Mangin

Judy & Mike McCarthy

Bill McColgan

McCrocklin Family Charitable Fund

Robert & Cheryl McGowen

Mr. & Mrs. Robert M. McGowen

Annie Reid Mills

Marcia & Robert Moffatt

Sally & Charles Moffet

Gary Moore

Cynthia A. Murray

National Endowment for the Arts – Grants for Arts Projects

Noel Foundation

Mrs. Weyman Oden, Jr.

Mark and Shirlee Owen

Sybil T. Patten

The Powers Foundation

Rev. Rothell Price

Jan Querbes

William & Carol Reyenga

Stephen G. Roberts

JoAnna & Bob Robinson, DrPH

Lois & Kirby Rowe

Marshall Shaw

Andrew M. Shehee

Shreveport Regional Arts Council
        with funds from the National Endowment for the Arts

Shreveport-Bossier Opera Guild

Melinda & Tom Simms III

Mary N. Smith & Bobby W. James

Kecia & Stephen Vekovius

The Family of Jennifer White

Willis-Knighton Health System